Hearing the Voice of God


Have you heard the voice of God before? I can’t say that I have more than a handful of times, but it’s pretty awesome when it happens.

One time that stands out in my memory was when I discovered I was pregnant…again. I was standing in the bathroom, bawling and talking to God. I was saying things like, “I just can’t be pregnant again! I’m already bigger than a barn! Whaaaaa!” I must have paused for a moment because suddenly, very clearly, God spoke to my heart saying, “Can you trust me in this thing also?” I said, “Yes, Lord. I can trust you in this thing also.”

In my book, “What Kids Pray“, I tell about teaching my Sunday school children to listen for the voice of God. Here is an excerpt.

“Recently, when teaching the children to listen for God’s “still small voice”, I had recorded sound effects on my little recorder for the kids to identify. Then, as the last sound, I recorded myself whispering in a very quiet voice, the Bible reference chapter and verse that I would be teaching from. (1 Kings 19:12) I had played the rest of the sounds at a normal volume, but when I played the recording of my scripture reference, I turned the volume down so the kids had to lean way in to hear. I had to play it a few times before they could tell me what I said, and that was with some of them shushing each other to hear better. Then, I went on to teach about listening for the voice of God.”

1 Kings 19:12 calls the voice of God a “still small voice”. Sometimes, we need to look for God in the small things in life instead of only the big things. He’s right there with us, maybe in the comment of a co-worker or seeing a beautiful cloud or looking out the window at the birds while drinking a good cup of coffee. It’s simple really. Just get comfy, pick up your Bible and start to read. God will talk to you through His word.

1 Kings 19:11.  “And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:
 12.  And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.”

It’s time for me to go put my feet up and read my Bible. I’ll be listening for the still small voice of God.

Nancy

5 Responses

  1. Made me smile picturing the children shushing each other and leaning in to hear the whisper… 🙂

    I have heard Gid speak to my heart with an impression of his will- a gentle leading. I have also heard him audibly speak to me. The first time that I recognized it was God, was before I was a Christian. I was pregnant, also, and went to the first Apostolic church I’d ever been in. I went because I was in love with a man who had slipped away from God, and found himself back in need of restoration. I did not know Jesus personally. I was raised both Catholic and pagan. I had been searching for the truth for at least a year, reading all types of religious books and practicing them. They all had left me empty. I did not know my boyfriend was a Christian until he said he was going back to church. When I went with him, I was so scared. I heard people speak in tongues and praise and worship, but it was like nails on a chalkboard to my ears. I felt rejected because my boyfriend wouldn’t even sit close to me or hold my hand. I hated that I was pregnant with his baby, and he treated me so distantly. I told him to take.me home. He didn’t want to go. I cussed at him and the pastor’s wife told him he should be a gentleman and take me. I cried when we got to my house. I didn’t want to get out, I was in love and wanted to talk. He physically kicked me out of the car. I was so angry, I took my only bible I had ever known, and I threw it down in disgust and deep hurt. I told God as my boyfriend sped away, “I hate you, God! I don’t want anything to do with you!” and that was when I’d heard the very clear and audible voice of God respond to me. He said, ” You want to know what it is like without me? I will show you.” And he did. Immediately. I felt absolutely nothing. A deep and overwhelming despair fell upon me and I’d felt a black void in my soul where I’d never felt such blackness before. I literally felt aimless and empty. I began to groan and wail in utter hopelessness. I was inconsolable. I didn’t want to go home. I couldn’t bear to be in the presence of anyone in my sadness, so I wandered- in my heels, in the snowfall, for miles. I was exhausted, had no idea where I was, and couldn’t endure emotionally. It was at that moment that I’d realized I was in front of a big Catholic church. Nothing else was around except industrial buildings and the freeway. It was late in the day- services were probably over, and the church was dark. No cars in the lot. I was so tired. I went to the doors just hoping they would be open, so I could go in, get warm and rest a bit. Amazingly, they were open.
    The entire church was empty, still and dark, with the exception of the altar. The altar was lit. I cried myself to sleep on the back pew, and when I woke, I walked home. God spoke in that church without saying a word. He left the altar lit. He was waiting for me to find him. I went back to that Apostolic church the next week, knowing that God was real, and that he cared for me. He has spoken to me audibly since then, also, but no words could ever compare to the way his silence fell upon the ears of my soul the day he lit the altar.

    • I found myself with my hand over my heart, holding my breath while I read your comment. It’s been a long time since I’ve read anything so poignant. This will take awhile to digest.
      These moments are so serious. They are life or death! It makes me tremble to think that there are souls out there who came to such a turning point and still rejected God. Where there is life, there is hope! I can only pray that they throw themselves once again at the mercy of our Great God!
      I experienced God withdrawing His presence from me one time during my early walk. Your description is very similar to mine. It was a great, dark emptiness and lonliness. It’s hard to talk about. The long and the short of it is, when it happened, I cried out to God and said I needed to know what was happening or I would not be able to survive it. He gave me these verses. Isaiah 54: The whole chapter, but especially verses 5-12 (my husband had left me which made this so much more personal)

      Isaiah 54: “5. For thy Maker is thine husband; the Lord of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called.
      6. For the Lord hath called thee as a woman forsaken and grieved in spirit, and a wife of youth, when thou wast refused, saith thy God.
      7. For a small moment have I forsaken thee; but with great mercies will I gather thee.
      8. In a little wrath I hid my face from thee for a moment; but with everlasting kindness will I have mercy on thee, saith the Lord thy Redeemer.
      9. For this is as the waters of Noah unto me: for as I have sworn that the waters of Noah should no more go over the earth; so have I sworn that I would not be wroth with thee, nor rebuke thee.
      10. For the mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed; but my kindness shall not depart from thee, neither shall the covenant of my peace be removed, saith the Lord that hath mercy on thee.
      11. O thou afflicted, tossed with tempest, and not comforted, behold, I will lay thy stones with fair colours, and lay thy foundations with sapphires. 12. And I will make thy windows of agates, and thy gates of carbuncles, and all thy borders of pleasant stones.
      13. And all thy children shall be taught of the Lord; and great shall be the peace of thy children.
      14. In righteousness shalt thou be established: thou shalt be far from oppression; for thou shalt not fear: and from terror; for it shall not come near thee.
      15. Behold, they shall surely gather together, but not by me: whosoever shall gather together against thee shall fall for thy sake.
      16. Behold, I have created the smith that bloweth the coals in the fire, and that bringeth forth an instrument for his work; and I have created the waster to destroy.
      17. No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.”
      An Instrument for His Work,
      Nancy

  2. P.s, Thank you for reminding me of that still, small voice, sister Nancy. I love you!

    • Love you too Kellie. Thank you for your incredible testimony!
      Nancy

  3. Thank-you so much for posting this. It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

