Reading the Word of God


I had an amazing thing happen this morning. I was in the parking ramp at work, reading my Bible, (I should explain, I almost always leave enough time in the morning to read at least a chapter or two out of my Bible before I head into work.) and a verse reached out and grabbed me by my lapels, looked me right in the eyes and said, “Did you get that?!?!” Well, maybe it seemed that way to me.

I was reading Psalms 40:17 “But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: ….”

“the Lord thinketh upon me:” You don’t know how badly I needed to read that. I have felt, for a long time, that God is right here with me, ready to listen whenever I talk to Him. Lately, though, all of the trouble in the world has shaken me. I’ve felt like maybe I only thought that God is as close as a whisper, and who did I think I was anyway. I’m no better or closer to God than all of those poor people who lost their lives or loved ones and maybe all that they ever had. I can’t help but think that surely they called on God as their lives were being ripped from them. But, then I thought, who am I to say that God didn’t hear them, or help them….When I read this, “But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: “, I thought…I was right…nothing has changed…I never have been a special someone who would get God’s attention more than anyone else, but it’s ok. I don’t have to be special. God thinks upon me. Even if He allows tragedy or pain or sorrow or sickness or any of the other fears we all seem to have to fight…it doesn’t mean He has left my side to go deal with more important issues. It doesn’t mean that He is too occupied with world crisis to bother with me. He thinketh on me….and whether that means I go through the valley of the shadow of death or enjoy God’s abundant provision with those I love, what really matters is, “But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: ”

Time to finish my coke and read my Bible.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

