Crazy Consecration


I was watching a scene, in my mind’s eye of a Christmas many, many years ago. I saw myself watching my family as they bent low toward the floor and a lighted box. Their faces were intent and blank at the same time. Their eyes were fixed on the box, yet there was no engagement with it. I became more and more concerned and finally, I had acknowledged to myself that the Christmas gift to my son of a PlayStation had been a huge mistake. I was deeply disturbed and prayed, asking Jesus what could be done now that it was in the home and the family was completely taken up with playing it. I had cried out to God in my heart and asked for forgiveness for my foolishness and asked for a way of escape. Then, the way God does…I felt that peaceful answer settle down over me. I knew what to do and I didn’t have to wait long for my opportunity. In those days, we often had to run up and down the road for one thing or another, so it wasn’t long before I had my son in the car with me. I asked the question, “If you hadn’t gotten the PlayStation for Christmas, what would you have wanted?” My son answered quickly, without hesitation. “A snowboard.” I responded, “Would you still want one if we could take the PlayStation back?” Again, he did not hesitate, “Sure.” And that was it. The PlayStation got packed up and returned that very day and a snowboard was bought. My son and my daughter became avid snowboarders and didn’t seem to miss the PlayStation.

I was reminded of the PlayStation Christmas one evening after a time of consecrating prayer. It had occurred to me that entertainments take time and prayer of any consequence takes time. It takes time to force your thoughts into submission and focus your spirit on God. It takes time to create an atmosphere of worship. It takes time to come into the presence of God and once in the presence of God, it takes time to communicate and worship as He deserves. Often these sacred times of prayer become a time of consecration and receiving my marching orders from God. I have thought so often since I determined in my heart a while back to make time every day for deep prayer of how different it would have been if God had not gotten a hold of me early in 2012 and convicted me about my different entertainments. I disconnected from cable, got the TV out and now give Facebook only a few minutes at a time compared to the hour or more it used to get.

Prayer of consecration not only takes time, it also takes denying the flesh. I had not been one to fast without it being a big deal in the past so needless to say, I hadn’t fasted more than a meal here and there for a very long time. Sometime in March of 2012, I was watching Rev. Lee Stoneking preach on my Kindle and he mentioned, as he was preaching that as a point of personal, spiritual maintenance, he fasted regularly. Then he said to the congregation something to the effect of, “You should really try to fast once a week. Just start your fast at 6:00 pm and fast until 6:00 pm the next evening, that way it doesn’t seem so long or difficult…” Br. Stoneking sort of trailed off as he said this, and I saw a look pass over his face. He was like a sail losing a breeze. He knew people were politely listening to his advice but not going to follow it. I immediately thought, “I have to do this. It’s not like it’s a hard thing.” I have made this my own personal, spiritual maintenance plan since then with not too many lapses.

The point of consecrating prayer and fasting is to be changed. Sometimes being changed only comes after responding to deep, painful conviction. There was the time I asked God to show me what I was lacking and I realized I was like the foolish virgins with no oil in my lamp. Then there was the heartbreak when I realized that I had brought no fruit to perfection. The hardest time of all was when God spoke to my heart and said, “Is it a small thing to grieve your God?” These were the hard things that times of consecration brought forward to be dealt with, but then there were the times I willingly offered myself to my God and MADE myself become soft and pliable in the Potter’s Hand and submitted myself to time back on the Potter’s Wheel because I was desperate to be changed. My cry to God was, “If I’m not fit for your use,then Change me!!”

One thing that drives me back over and over to strive to go deep in prayer are those special, Holy times with God. I have had some beautiful, sacred experiences with my God through all of this. One Saturday morning, I felt the presence of God and it was like I saw a picture in my mind’s eye of God’s back as He walked through beautiful, thick vegetation. It was as though He created a path as He walked and as He walked, the path got brighter and brighter. Everything He touched as He passed was covered with a heavy dew of His goodness and righteousness. This dew of His goodness and righteousness rested heavily on the leaves and vegetation and I realized that if I walked very close to God as He went down the path, His goodness and righteousness would splash on me and I would shine more and more also. This was a great comfort to me. Another evening, I had been so thankful to God for giving me a time and space to repent that in the midst of thanking Him, I had an amazing Visitation. It was like being wrapped in the Will of God. It was a very sacred, beautiful time.

The more I make this daily time of deep prayer top priority, the more I grudge that time getting filled with other things. When the appointed time rolls around, it’s like I receive a call to prayer and whenever possible, I drop whatever I’m doing and go to my stuffed chair and pray. I’ve made up my mind that I am not going to miss the “This is That” time that is upon us. As Rev Stoneking says, “This is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel. There isn’t another That coming!” I’m not missing it folks. I am determined to catch this wave of the outpouring of the Holy Ghost and be a part of the action! It’s here! It’s now! If you wait to play catch up, you will miss it! I’ve had so many people say to me that they want desperately to experience changes in their live’s, like what I’ve been experiencing. They hunger for a deeper walk with God. They want to have the excitement of doing something for the Kingdom. I tell them, consecration takes time. Put away your entertainments and consecrate and re-consecrate and then consecrate again! God will meet you there.

Proverbs 4:18 ” But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day.”

Meet you in the prayer room.

Nancy

Acts 2:1-4, 12-21

“1. And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place.
2. And suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting.
3. And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them.
4. And they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance……….
12. And they were all amazed, and were in doubt, saying one to another, What meaneth this?
13. Others mocking said, These men are full of new wine.
14. But Peter, standing up with the eleven, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, Ye men of Judaea, and all ye that dwell at Jerusalem, be this known unto you, and hearken to my words:
15. For these are not drunken, as ye suppose, seeing it is but the third hour of the day.
16. But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel;
17. And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams:
18. And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my Spirit; and they shall prophesy:
19. And I will shew wonders in heaven above, and signs in the earth beneath; blood, and fire, and vapour of smoke:
20. The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before that great and notable day of the Lord come:
21. And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

2 Responses

  1. This is awesome and so true. That was wonderful playstation/vs snow board.

    • Thank you! I think I can easily say 2012 was a year of consecration.

Leave a Reply

